More about the “costs” of getting into Voiceover

David Winograd writes in Part 2 of his voiceover journey…

In the first part of this article, I detailed what I learned from approaching the world of Voice Over knowing nothing. Today, after nearly three years, I am working hard and still not breaking even. I want to tell you some of the things that I learned, while I am continuing to learn, and to keep you from becoming roadkill when approaching Voice Over.

Do what you love and the money will follow.”

This a quote incorrectly attributed to Ben Franklin and came from a Chinese philosopher. It sounds hopeful and even empowering, and one day may have been true, but today it’s quite wrong when it comes to Voice Over. I prefer another a quote by Terry Pratchett from his book “The Wee Free Men”.

“If you believe in yourself and trust in your dreams and follow your stars – you’ll still get beaten by people who spent their time working hard and learning things and weren’t so lazy.”

I do not disagree with this. And it is why I focus on self-evaluation in my class. You need to know where you fit, what you do best and find the people who are in the market for it.
This takes a lot more than just believing in yourself.

Read the whole article here…

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/considering-voice-over-how-roadkill-part-two-david-winograd

Leave a Reply

